Lambing approaches

Wednesday (oops, Thursday – time flies) was shearing day. Thanks again to Al Potter of Merciful Hearts Shearing. It was a pleasant day with perfect weather, good company, and (mostly) polite sheep. I even managed to catch one sheep with my new shepherd’s crook. To be honest, she was just standing there and made no attempt to escape, but still – don’t knock the small victories.

It was a short breeding season as I didn’t want to drag out lambing. I started the fall by thinking I wouldn’t breed any ewes. Then decided to breed five ewes. And finally just tossed all ten ewes in with the rams. Of the ten, seven are definitely bred, one is definitely not, one is probably bred, and one is too early to be sure.

Gleann Ull Lyla is one that is definitely bred. She should have the first Belle Ridge Excelsior lambs somewhere around April 6

I knew Patchwork Holly was pregnant as I’d checked her udder a few weeks ago. I never saw her bred so don’t have a date – but I’d say she’s going to be the first for Wicked Child Sten lambs. Every time I looked out there, she was beating him up. I guess it was a short romance.

I have Patchwork Sylvie down for another three weeks with Excelsior lambs. She may pop!

Patchwork Diva is uncertain. Her due date wouldn’t be until early May. She’s a small girl. After shearing she is mostly head and horns.

The boys have nothing to do now until next fall.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment