You’re never too old

You’re never too old to play…

I don’t know if it was the warm weather (high 50’s today) or the sunshine (hooray!) or the yearling ewes just knew I wanted to see some lambs playing after reading the lamb race post at Kenleigh Acres but my yearling ewes were in a playful mood this evening. One of the things I love about Jacob Sheep is they never seem to lose their playful spirits.

Bling is a little on the chubby side. I was sure surprised to see how high she can jump!

Annie and Twill in synchronized jumping

Layla can sure buck!

Wonder if Macaroon is thinking about lambs?

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You’re never too old

  1. Jackie Paunil says:

    I just wanted tell you how much I have enjoyed your blog. I have been searching for info to help prepare me for my single Jacab ewe’s lambing. I’m very excited to find your flock.
    There is a lot about sheep, but not so much specifically about the Jacobs.
    If I may, do you dock tails? If so, do you use bands or have the equipment to cut? I’m trying to figure out what is best overall. I have the bands, but not sure if that’s okay for docking tails.
    Keep writing! I’m loving the pictures too! Fantastic “happy” shots!
    Jackie

    • Hello Jackie,

      I do currently dock tails. There were years when I didn’t and I still have three ewes with undocked tails. They keep their tails very neat. I do bands.
      Thanks for your nice comments!

  2. jennifer bauman says:

    Those are great shots. I’m glad you caught them in the act. Spring is in the air??

  3. Wheee – happy sheeps šŸ˜€

  4. Awesome shots! I love watching the older girls run and jump and kick up their heels. I love the one of Bling šŸ™‚

  5. farmgirlarts says:

    Great post!!
    I’m finding that Shetlands are quite playful, too. My two Jacob wethers and my 3 Shetland ewes run around and around and butt heads and buck. I’m often laughing out loud and my neighbors just can’t believe it!

  6. Patrice Lynne Young says:

    I remember when I could jump like that…. NOT!

    Great action photos! Who says sheep are placid and lugubrious?

Leave a Reply

