When you’re all alone…

at night and a storm comes up. The lights go out. As the winds roar outside, suddenly you hear the sound of a footstep.  And another..

Not really. 🙂

More like when you are all alone and the lambs need their cdt shots. Dave is great about helping when I ask, but sometimes I have to get something done and Dave’s not available to help. And sometimes, he really wants to go fishing. I came up with this method a few years ago and it makes vaccinations an easy task for one person.  If you have one of these::

fill it with your loaded needles, wormer, whatever, along with either a notebook for recording shots as given or, my favorite.

a pack of dry erase pens. I love these things! I do have marker ink that I sometimes use on the rams to monitor breeding activity, but these are so easy (the marker ink is messy) – and they come in colors. During a recent five day treatment for coccidia for the lambs, lambs that were treated with sulmet only got a red mark. Lambs that were also wormed got a blue mark. Easy to just grab the notebook and record when everything is finished. And the color is usually completely gone by the next day.

And the heart of my method ..

Everybody probably has one or more of the indispensable five gallon bucket. I’m sure there are a number of creative ways to use a five gallon bucket as a lamb holder, but when I give shots, it serves as a seat.

Turn bucket upside down unless you prefer sitting on the open end. Hang the feed trough with your supplies over the fence within easy reach while you are sitting on the bucket. Grab lamb. Sit on bucket with lamb on your lap – legs hanging down on either side of your legs. If you are right handed, place the lamb facing to your left and use your left upper arm across the lamb’s neck to hold him/her against your body – like a head gate. Give shot. As long as the lamb’s legs don’t reach the ground, just holding his/her neck keeps the lamb almost motionless. This method actually works better for me than to have someone hold the lamb for me.

I would have included action pictures – but being alone means no one around with a camera 🙂

.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When you’re all alone…

  1. mudranch says:

    Excellent advice! I’ve always liked those feeders but not having a whole lot of panels (and having horned sheep) I’ve never really found a good use for them… I like your idea!

  2. Alina says:

    I like this method, I may have to try it with the goat kids. Right now my method entails a milking stand and a scoop of grain, works for the most part, but certainly leaves large room for error.

Leave a Reply

