Happy Holidays


You don’t need snow to have Christmas.

The holidays are often a time to rejoice and sometimes a time to be a little sad.

Christmas 1970, Myakka Valley in Sarasota, Florida. My mother standing at the head and my grandmother in the carriage. Two Bits hitched to the cart. Yes, he is wearing stockings. I couldn’t quite remember how attiring him in stockings (actually legs cut off of tights) fit into the Christmas theme until I called my sister, Kathy, who reminded me that they are Santa’s black boots. Well, of course they are.ย  Two Bits carried Mom and Mam through the neighborhood delivering Christmas cards and fruitcake (my grandmother made a wonderful fruitcake (Dave just chimed in that we were the fruitcakes – he has a well defined sense of the absurd) – wish someone had saved the recipe. It might have been wrapping the fruitcake in a rum soaked cloth that made it so good ๐Ÿ™‚ but I loved it.

I had married and left home by the time of this picture. I was a little embarrassed as a teenager when I had to wear an elf suit for this Christmas tradition – and extremely embarrassed when Mom decided that Kathy and I (dressed as elves) should be part of her entry in the costume class at a local horse show.

Mom, Mam, and Two Bits (and the elf suit) are gone now. I don’t miss the elf suit. Memories of loved ones warm my heart and make me smile.

I won’t be showing up at your doorstep driving a donkey and wearing an elf suit, but I will be here wishing you and yours a holiday filled with blessings and delight.


About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Family Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Holidays

  1. mudranch says:

    Merry Christmas (belated) and Happy New Year Linda! That last photo is PERFECT! What a wonderful memory (despite the elf suit)… Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚ And, hey, everyone could use a few fruit cakes in the family. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Great story and photos!

  3. Great story and classic pictures!

Leave a Reply

