The Little Toughy

Much smaller, no motor, only two drums, and a pretty basic no-frills carder (but it does have a picture of a camel)

my Louet Classic has a coarse 46tpi carding cloth with long teeth. Much coarser and longer than the teeth on the Supercard. After specifically buying carders with finer teeth for 20 years, I picked this carder for its coarse cloth. The Louet is a unique carder in that it is designed for the teeth to mesh as the drums turn. As far as I know, it’s the only carder designed this way. It takes awhile to get used to the noise the teeth make! I have to admit to shying away from Louet carders for years, but I’m tickled pink …. and purple and green and yellow

with the performance of this little guy. The carder works exceptionally well for carding directly from a lock. It is designed to grab the fiber from your hand. The Supercard (and most carders) prefer to handle a well teased or picked fiber.  The coarser teeth on this carder mean that the fiber is not well blended on the first pass – which is exactly what I wanted.

For weaving (and locker hooking) and felting,  I prefer to use roving or batts with alot of variation. I want to see the spectrum of those wonderful Jacob Sheep natural colors. If all I wanted a homogeneous gray wool, why would I raise spotted sheep? The first pass off the Louet  does not produce a smooth batt (the SC does). There are times when I don’t need a smooth batt – a little lumpy works just fine.

And there are times when I don’t want a smooth or well blended batt..

and I want that bit of slightly felted Cotswold to retain it’s lumpy nature..


I love carding!


About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Little Toughy

  1. DShepherdess says:

    I LOVE the colors! Awesome!

  2. I love my Louet carder! Your yarns are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

