Blue Birds and Green Beans

Summer just isn’t blogging season for me. Too much to do to sit for long. I have many thoughtful blogs started, but my thoughts ran out before they were finished. They await the return of my thought processes (maybe when it gets a little cooler!!)

Last month, I spotted this bright fellow watching me….

Not a particularly clear picture, but maybe you can see the insect in his beak. A little later, Mrs. Bluebird, left the nest and Mr. Bluebird took his turn with parenting chores..

He continued to bring insects for the fledglings for nearly 30 minutes. I returned the next day with my tripod, all set up to get some really great shots. He never did repeat his show for me, although he was there and Mrs. Bluebird peeked out at me a few times. The pictures aren’t razor sharp, but my enjoyment in remembering him is.

And on to green beans – no pictures here! Use your imagination and visualize The Pioneer Woman’s kitchen. Mine looks just hers with sparkling counter tops and lovely cooking utensils and serving dishes. “where in the heck is my favorite beautiful serving dish? is that darn dog eating his dinner out of it again?” Lack of pictures should not detract from this great recipe. I love it. I love the bin of Cook’s Illustrated for 50 cents at the Franklin, NC Friends of the Library Book Sale. I am so tempted to grab all of the issues, but always leave some for the next lucky browser – at least two, anyway.

SICHUAN GREEN BEANS

Combine:
2 TB soy sauce
1 TB dry sherry
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp cornstarch
1/4 tsp ground white pepper (or whatever pepper)
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (or grated hot pepper – keep them in the freezer andΒ  great grate as needed
1/4 tsp dry mustard
2 TB water
And set aside.

Heat 2 TB oil in a big skillet over high heat

Add:
1 lb green beans cut into 2 in pieces
Cook until starting to be tender, but still crisp, and, this part is important, skins need to be shrivel-ly and blackened in some spots.
Transfer to a plate.

At this point you can either brown some ground pork as the original recipe dictates, or you can use diced chicken, ground old ram, mushrooms for a vegetarian dish – or just leave out this step and go directly to:

add 3 medium garlic cloves, minced, and 1 TB minced fresh ginger (I keep ginger in the freezer and grate as needed) and cook abut 15 seconds until fragrant

Toss the beans back in the skillet, add the sauce, and cook until thickened ( a few seconds).

Unadvertised special…Brown Birds..

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Household Stuff, Various animals. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Birds and Green Beans

  1. mudranch says:

    Love that last pic of the two babes peeking out of their nest! We’ve also got a pair of blue birds here that are busily tending their kids… I’ve yet to photograph them this year but have in years past. They’re so beautiful and I love when they’re teaching their babes how to fly. Such a fun time to see them all balanced on the fence. πŸ™‚

  2. FarmGirl says:

    Thanks for taking the time to share the photos and recipe, Linda.

    I liked “ground old ram”. Hard to get my mind around killing and eating Jericho, yet. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

