“Watchful Waiting”

My friend, Brenda, shared this term with me and it suits my attitude towards lambing..

Be watchful, be prepared to help, but most importantly…wait..
Besides my bottle of iodine, my most important lambing tool is the clock in the barn. Watching a ewe strain in hard labor seems like hours when it’s only been five minutes. Wait. She doesn’t need me.

Watching Holly this morning on my “lambing cam” ( stare out the living room window – primitive, but it works), I could see her out towards the back ofย  the paddock. It was a warm morning and a good day for ewes to lamb outside if they decided to. The gates to the woods are kept closed during lambing, however, for my convenience. After a quick labor, she delivered a lamb – took one look at it – and ran away. As far as she could get. This was definitely rather worrisome. I got some colostrum from the freezer and went back to the window to watch. Holly very slowly crept towards the lamb, jumping back when the lamb struggled to stand and then moving slowly forward again… until…

Hey, you smell familiar!

I’m going to keep you!!

All is well. No one needed me. Patchwork Brick is happily tucked into a lambing jug for the evening with his doting mother, Holly.

Martha had a nice ewe lamb yesterday, sired by Unzicker Jedd…She doesn’t have a name yet, but she has presence!!

This Celine x Jedd ram lamb came with “grill marks”. His name is Panini

His brother, Pancake..

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Watchful Waiting”

  1. terri says:

    Those Jacobs are just adorable, with their spots. I so enjoy all of the new lamb pics, as I impatiently wait for mine to arrive!

  2. Patrice says:

    I could not help but laugh!!! Pancake! I think that’s one of the best sheep names I’ve ever heard.

    And it’s appropriate for a ram cause you never know; he might be a flattener as well.

    All of your lambs are gorgeous. Love the name Panini too…

    Ah, spring!

  3. Pancake is “flat”. He’s got a light frame. when you look at him from the top, he’s very narrow and looks like a pancake. Or at least he did when he was born and I was tired ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Panini and Brick are funny names, but where did Pancake come from ๐Ÿ˜‰ Very fun names! Glad Holly decided to be a mom. Her lamb is very cute and look another smiley face.

  5. mudranch says:

    Your names are very funny… Especially like Panini! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Shari says:

    Brick is adorable!

  7. Your lambs are all just CUTE, CUTE, CUTE!!!

Leave a Reply

