Lions and Lambs

I think it’s March that is supposed to be in like a lion, but the winds of February have sure been roaring like a lion around here. Usually a February blog post would have a few shots of the daffodils blooming,  spring grass coming in, the maple trees budding out, or even a flowering purple plum tree. Still brown here, but I think I saw just a bit of a green haze over the ground yesterday. Spring will be all the more welcome this year!

“In the jungle, the mighty jungle
The lion sleeps tonight
In the jungle the quiet jungle
The lion sleeps tonight
(A-weema-weh, a-weema-weh, a-weema-weh, a-weema-weh)
(A-weema-weh, a-weema-weh, a-weema-weh, a-weema-weh)”

I’m moving to the jungle where the lions sleep at night. Our “lion”

“ME??”

has decided that she’d like to go out every morning at 3am to sit on the porch and think.  Maybe she’s just being a shepherd’s cat and listening for lambs. Maybe she’s a brat. I’d had enough! “Dorothy! scream all you want. I will not let you out. We are going to break this pattern now!”. The first night, after screaming for 20 minutes, she knocked everything off my night stand, climbed to the top of the bookcase and knocked everything off of there. I didn’t give in. The second night, after screaming for 30 minutes, she came and sat on my pillow and stared at me. Still holding my ground, I didn’t give in. Night three – one brief scream and then she came and sat on my chest and sang “A-weema-weh, a-weema-weh, a-weema-weh, a-weema-weh” real loud and she weighs a ton. Night four – back to screaming. I didn’t give in. I elbowed Dave and told him to let her out.

We’ve got the ‘out like a lamb’ part going right along with 9 lambs so far. They are currently fulfilling their early responsibilities to be cute and healthy.  Time enough later for critiquing.

I say that… but the new lambs born this morning look like something extra special might be in the works with these two. Gorgeous fleeces, nice markings, four horns. Now the long wait to see how the horns develop.
Broken O Melodie and Patchwork Belvedere created this pair…


The girl – Rhapsody. I think she’ll stay here.

and the boy – Banjo

Brewer and Ryan (I watch way too much McLeod’s Daughters) are such cheerful looking guys.

Venice wants her mom and she wants her NOW!

Paris is pretty goofy looking with that one droopy ear. Don’t worry, it will come up and she’ll lose that heavy halo. She got the cute thing wrapped up.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lions and Lambs

  1. I LOVE the smiling lambs!!! And Dorothy? Wiwi says “hi” and “Keep up the good work!” I can’t kick an 18 year old cat out in the cold…can I? 😉

  2. FarmGirl says:

    Gorgeous lambs!! Love the smiles!

    I had a cat that would do the same thing, but he was a bit nicer — 4:30am. We started locking him in the office at night. That worked.

  3. Oh Dorothy, you are so naughty!!!

    Your lambs are adorable 🙂 I love the names!

Leave a Reply

