I tried to be nice..

but,  I guess I was naughty ’cause I got a bundle of sticks for Christmas…

which is what I asked for. Thanks, Santa! I have finally convinced Dave that lumber, field fence, and fence posts are suitable as Christmas presents. I used to get “a roll of fencing/a load of 1 x 4’s isn’t a Christmas present”. Yes it is.

I used to raise and show Rex rabbits. I had over 100 rabbits and a 20′ x 30′ barn of hanging cages. By the time we moved here, I’d gotten out of the Rexes and had 7 Angoras. Dave built me a nice 10′ x 12′ barn for them.  They got old or sold and now I have just two Angora rabbits (although it was kinda cold a few weeks ago, so I thought the buck and doe would be warmer in the same cage). Dave built me some really nice hutches that I can move around – with a tractor. I swear the guy doesn’t know the meaning of “I want something I can move around.” as in without having to go get the tractor or three neighbors.

The 10′ x 12′ barn is slowly turning into my wool sorting and storage room. We put a floor in it last month and now are working on siding – my bundle of sticks. The rabbits were in there for years without getting wet, so I was thinking no problem with the wool. I somehow forgot that when the rabbits were in there, we were in the drought and it seldom rained. It’s sure raining now – we are at 87 inches for the year measured at the reporting station a few miles from us.  I’ve sure had to quit boasting about not having any drainage problems in the sheep barn now that we actually have some moisture that needs draining.

I made Dave a pair of socks for Christmas with my circular sock machine.

This is the first time I’ve tried commercial sock yarn on the machine. It was on sale and I thought the camouflage colors would appeal to Dave.  He was delighted – says they will be great the next time he decides to go hunting without wearing his boots.  ( an aside – I’ve decided that I do not like superwash yarn at all. I miss the blooming of ‘real’ wool)

Since Dave felt that a bundle of sticks was really not “personal”, he added ..

this amazing pair of jammy pants. I’m still rolling on the floor laughing – he said “I don’t what that pattern is”. It’s Mickey Mouse!  I love Mickey Mouse, but am just a tiny bit glad that they aren’t my size and that Dave saved the receipt.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Family Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I tried to be nice..

  1. mudranch says:

    Funny about the pajama pants!… I’d guess they’d keep you awake at night. 😉 LOL I hope you had a very Merry Christmas and now a Happy New Year Linda! 😀

  2. Great post! I am still laughing about the mickey mouse pajama pants 🙂

    I LOVE practical gifts – wheel barrows, buckets, muck boots – some of my favorite gifts!

    The socks look great and I agree about the bloom of real wool.

  3. FarmGirl says:

    BTW: what is the contraption next to your pile of stix? It looks like a buggy or something horse drawn.

    Reply: it’s Dave’s 14′ aluminum “yacht”. A guy he used to crew with a 54′ Hatteras gave him a 40 year old motor. A neighbor sold him a 40 year old boat for $100 and another neighbor gave him an old trailer that he rebuilt. We have alot of fun with it 🙂

  4. FarmGirl says:

    Like you, I love practical/useful stuff. This year I was surprised by my husband and son with an antique butter mold and the old family churn that my husband refurbished. WOW!!

    Also like you, everything Ken makes requires a tractor to move. I asked him to build me a sled I could use to move my electronet fencing with. I imagined something light weight that I could pull. BUT noooooo! I got a heavy duty sled pulled by the tractor!! Sheesh! Good intentions, I guess.

  5. I would love to get sticks also. I got a microscope for Christmas so I can do my own fecals now. My husband thought I was nuts and maybe I am but I got what I asked for from Santa. Hope you had a Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

