When your sandwich has

a name.  We do eat our sheep. We couldn’t raise them if we didn’t and we like lamb/mutton, as well as knowing where our meat comes from. I’m not quite weird enough to mark the packages in my freezer with names.

If you eat your sheep and sandwiches, you might enjoy this recipe. Dave’s new job requires him taking a cold lunch, rather than a “blue collar lunchbox” (microwave).  He’s not really a fan of sandwiches unless they are really good.  He has to watch his sodium and cholesterol intake, so deli meats aren’t really the best choice. And I just don’t cook a turkey every week.

1/2 lb ground lamb/mutton
1 slice of whole grain bread (home made if you  have it)
1 blue banty egg (I’m sure it would work ok with any small egg . Dave brought home some beautiful little eggs from work and I liked the blue one)
whatever seasonings you like. I used the no salt sausage that our butcher makes up for us and added a garlic clove and a little onion.
put everything in a food processor and process until it’s really well blended and very smooth. You are making a pate’ (or Pat-T as Dorothy calls it) rather than a meat loaf. It’s the food processor and the fine grinding that makes the difference.
bake at 350 for about an hour.
chill overnight.

In the morning, the pate’ cuts  easily into non crumbly sandwich friendly slices that, coupled with my homemade bread, are just what the doctor ordered for Dave’s lunch – and, yes, he loved the sandwich.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Family Stuff, Household Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When your sandwich has

  1. Alina says:

    Well send me some lamb meat, it sounds wonderful.

    Reply from Mom..
    Come and get it 🙂

  2. FarmGirl says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I will probably give this a try. My guess is that it would work with chicken, too. I butcher my own chickens and can always use a new way to make them into sandwiches!

    I love making homemade bread. I do cheat and use a bread maker. I just don’t have the time to do all the detailed work. It’s still quite yummy, though.

    Reply from Linda..
    I use a bread machine to knead the dough. It’s much easier on my old hands!

Leave a Reply

