They come and they go……

From mid spring to mid summer,  most weekends are spent either bringing sheep in or sending sheep out. I was very good this year , sending many more sheep out than I brought in. (the year is still young :D)

I first met Pleasant Run Vesta at SAFF last year, when Cathy from Perfect Spot Farm picked her up from Royal Unzicker, Ivy Brook Meadows.

CRW_4481

Although I was sorry to hear that Cathy was downsizing her lovely flock, I was thrilled to have the chance to buy Vesta.  Who could sell such a beautiful ewe!?! It turns out that Vesta has a rather annoying habit – she eats dog food – going so far as to keep the LGDs (livestock guardian dogs) from having a chance to eat.  This trait made her a high maintenance girl at Perfect Spot. We don’t have LGDs so she doesn’t have the opportunity to feed her habit here. She does, however, come running to the fence when she sees  my Great Dane, Maggie, and then stands there with her nose pressed to Maggie’s nose. It took me abit to figure that out. She’s smelling the dog food on Maggie’s breath!

I’d thought to call this post “easy come, easy go”, but my other acquistion this year was certainly not easy..

IMG_4924

IMG_4683

I like to keep track of the sheep I sell and I often buy lambs from my breeding. (PS -I always want to know if the sheep you bought from me are for sale or if you have lambs for sale. I can’t, of course, buy them all, but I can often help place them. And I always welcome news and pictures)

This pretty ewe lamb is sired by Patchwork Waukesha and out of Patchwork Shelby.  She’s a granddaughter of past Patchwork sheep, Kreutzer Farms Abe (a lilac), Bullthistle Dancer,  Patchwork Morgan (a Viva son), and Sweetgrass Ainslie, born respectively  in Nebraska, Wisconsin, Georgia, and Michigan.  Her name was Lucy, but since that was the name of our late much-loved, Lucy the pig dog, I call her Lucinda.

Deciding on Lucinda was easy.  Catching Lucinda was not!  While the owners were hoping to coax Lucinda and her dam into the barn with grain, I went back to my van to avoid spooking them by the sight of  a stranger.  After a bit, I went to help move her to my van – except she and Shelby were still running full blast from corner to corner in an acre paddock, pursued by two rapidly overheating persons (not to mention two overheating sheep).  They said this is the way they always catch sheep.  I did my best to be a good cutting horse, but I’m 60  years old with a bad knee and covering a 200 foot side with fast and twisty moves  is just not within my skill set.  The lamb is faster than I am  – and I would wonder about the health of a lamb that was slower than I am!!!  Finally, the teenage son came out to help and it was a truly amazing sight. He just took off running and caught the lamb. I was impressed by his speed, glad that I have catch pens and sheep that are willing to go into them at home, and very glad to load Lucinda in the van for the trip home.

And this gorgeous boy went this year…

web-IMG_0482

web-Abraham-head-63009-1

Shannon from Kenleigh Acres sent me these updated pictures of Patchwork Abraham. I think he’s developing nicely! and that’s sure a handsome boy in the background. Abraham’s parting was all set to be fairly easy even though he was making the trip by air.  It’s too long a story and it ended up well. But, was not as easy as I’d anticipated.  Thank goodness Delta was at the Greenville, SC airport as an alternative to American Airlines and thank goodness that Dave was rained out at work and decided to make the trip with me.  We hauled Abraham and his carrier alot during the day.  Extra hands were very welcome.

I didn’t take pictures, but anyone that has been here can visualize a big stock trailer in front of our house. We can turn around a small horse trailer in our drive (barely).  I am now much more conscientious about asking “what are you driving?”  Again – thank goodness for Dave! It was an experience, but sheep and trailer eventually headed back up the hill.. For awhile we were thinking  we were going to have to keep the trailer and turn it into a guest cabin.

Two more reserved sheep will leave here soon.  One ram lamb will be making a visit to a nearby breeder on loan for the 2009 breeding season. One ram lamb will be watched to evaluate his horns. One ram lamb will go into the freezer.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to resist temptation and the revolving door will only open out for the rest of the year 🙂

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to They come and they go……

  1. Christy O says:

    I have one I can’t catch. She won’t come in the stall for food usually, she is very leary of us. She is going to the freezer one day, if we can catch her!

  2. Wrensong Farm says:

    You are definitely doing well! Having more sheep going out than coming in. You’re my hero!! I am not only keeping (for just a little while, I hope) all the lambs I had this year but I am picking up some more!!

  3. Vesta is beautiful – I think that is the funniest reason I have heard for selling a sheep – lucky you 🙂

    I delivered sheep for someone that under estimated the size of our truck and trailer and I was really afraid that I was going to have to walk home – very scary!

    I am so happy that Abraham made it here – thanks!

Leave a Reply

