Shearing Day…..

a day when eye patches and knee spots fade into insignificance and fleece and horns jump to the forefront. Why horns? Well, when you see a naked Jacob, you’ll understand..horns go from a mere head ornament..

p1070636

to the main event…

p1070884

We usually are able to schedule shearing with a week’s notice, so setting up my pens is a rather leisurely process.  Because of our rainy spring (yay rain!), we’ve had trouble finding two dry days in a row. Tuesday it snowed! but it looked like Wednesday and Thursday would be dry, so we scheduled for Thursday. I had a spinning class to teach in NC for Wednesday, so was a bit rushed in setting up. I absolutely hate setting up the morning of shearing. I want everything to be set up the night before .I’m in love with panels … hog panels, bull panels, goat panels. You just cannot have enough panels.

I decided to use the sheep box (that Dave made from goat panels) from the truck to house the rams for shearing.  It worked great! They were very easy to catch in the small space and didn’t have enough room to do any damage to each other in the reacquaintment process that sometimes happens after shearing. First I have to get the guys in the box. My original plan was to get them up in the barn, corner them and lead/drag (they are halter broken, but I’m not sure how much they remember) them to the box.  Out of shear sheer laziness, I decided to see if they might just be convinced to load themselves. By dang, if they didn’t walk through three gates, across two paddocks, into the barn, and after about 15 minutes of exploring the barn, walk into the box. They are such good boys! I’ve learned that Jacob Sheep are curious creatures. With a little patience, you can usually get sheep to go just where you want them to go by giving them something to explore.

Look at my mannerly boys…………………

p1070809

and my not quite as mannerly ewes (included in my ewe flock are a number of “plowers” – those sheep that refuse to take a single step and leave four furrows in their wake as they are dragged across the ground)…

p1070813

Shearing day couldn’t have been nicer – a little cool, but not cold. A little warm in the afternoon, but not hot. Just right says Goldilocks.

Here’s my fancy skirting table…

p1070834

I told you I loved panels 🙂

p1070822

Sasha gets her first shearing. What pretty fleece she has!

p1070829

Shearing day was a busy day for everyone. The shearer has gone home, Dave’s left the barn yard, and now my work begins. 22 bags of lovely fleece await my attention.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Fiber Happenings, Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shearing Day…..

  1. Christy O says:

    I’m glad shearing went well. The fleeces are beautiful. The woman I got the sheep from isn’t having the shearer out until May, it seems late to me. I’m going to bring mine to her for shearing. Did your husband cut the goat panels to make the sheep box? We want to make one for our truck. I wasn’t sure you could cut goat panels and the ones I can find around here are too big to use as is.

  2. Wrensong Farm says:

    I laugh everytime I look at my rams….I hope they aren’t TOO embarrassed!! I love watching the fleeces coming off during shearing and seeing the “new sheep” underneath!

  3. What good boys 🙂 I love panels too! Sasha’s fleece is very pretty.

  4. KathyB. says:

    I see we are both big fans of livestock panels, but I never considered using THEM as my skirting table! And I like your term “plowers’ for the seriously hesitant sheep. I always have at least 2 ! I am still skirting and washing fleeces from my first shearing in January, and have the rest of the fleeces to finish from the shearing a few weeks ago.

    You have a lovely place to keep Jacobs! I am a little bit jealous….

Leave a Reply

