Prolapse – the band


theband1

According to Wikipedia, the band “Prolapse formed in the summer of 1991 under a table at Leicester Polytechnic‘s Friday night disco, “With the aim of being the most depressing band ever”, earned a cult following for their live set, particularly for the tension within songs such as “Tina This Is Matthew Stone”, which were not so much sung as acted to a musical accompaniment. In 1993 they released two EPs on Cherry Red Records, “Crate” and “Pull Thru Barker”, followed in 1994 by the single “Doorstop Rhythmic Bloc” and album Pointless Walks to Dismal Places, which won critical acclaim. After leaving Cherry Red records, they then went on to release a variety of singles and EPs on a bewildering number of different labels….”

A fascinating bit of musical lore that I discovered when searching for information on prolapse. Not the band…. the kind that Wikipedia defines as “Prolapse literally means “To fall out of place.”Β  Which is just what happened to Viva three weeks ago – and three weeks before lambing. Prolapse may be the most depressing band ever, but a vaginal prolapse certainly is up there with the most depressing sheep situation ever. Repair is rather simple – carefully put what is out of place back into place. I was actually prepared with a prolapse spoon and harness on hand. The spoon is inserted into the vagina, with the “ears” being tied to the wool.Β  The harness is optional, but since I had it, I used it.

harness

The harness has a strap that crosses the vulva and keeps things in.Β  There are many contributing factors for a prolapse – multiple lambs, very steep terrain, large rumen – all of which were the case here and all of which greatly increase the internal pressure.

It was a couple of days before I left for Michigan when I noticed that the ties on the spoon had come untied. I am perhaps the world’s worst knot tie-er. I haven’t worn shoes with laces for over 30 years for just that reason! I figured the harness would hold the spoon in place until I could catch her up to retie the strings. Well, I waited too long and the spoon was gone. I’d been keeping her up in a flattish small paddock, so you’d think the spoon would be easy to find – it’s bright yellow plastic. I raked every bit of hay laying in the paddock, turned over rocks, and finally resorted to an internal check on Viva just in case. It was nowhere to be found. The only thing I can figure is that one the many crows around here flew off with it. So if you are walking along and a prolapse spoon falls from the sky, it’s mine.

There are dangers in a prolapse which I took care to minimize. It’s been a tense three weeks – and tiring couple of days. Although the literature says a ewe can lamb with the harness on, I just can’t visualize how, so wanted to be there to remove the harness when lambing began. As usually happens, after two nights of every two hour checks, lambs were born in the afternoon. The first lamb was a very large ram lamb. Viva seemed to be struggling to deliver, so, contrary to my usual practices, I just went ahead and pulled him right away…

vivaram

He has a BIG head! His sister (yes!!! a ewe lamb – only the third of the year) is a more moderately sized lamb..

vivianne

Patchwork Vivianne is a lovely girl, with all the right markings and a beaurtiful even fleece. Lambs are sired by Unzicker Jedd.

We’re on a girl roll now (I hope πŸ™‚ – Painted Rock Kayleigh delivered a well marked 4 horned lilac ewe by Patchwork Belvedere this morning.

kayleighs

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prolapse – the band

  1. ALEX RINGROSE says:

    ITS BRILLY ANT ABOUT IHE IN FO LOVE IT

  2. Patrice says:

    When your page opened and I saw that grunge band, I was certain that I had hit the wrong key… but what a great segue into a difficult subject. I think I’d have to see the setup as I can’t imagine how it works from a description, but I’m glad I never had to find out in person.

    As always, your photographs are exceptional. I don’t know anyone who can better capture the personality and charm of any animal – excepting of course, those who take the liberty of peeing upon one’s person!

  3. Oh no, prolapse. I’m sorry you had to deal with that. I have read in many books and on the internet that docking a ewe lambs tail too short, along with other things, will also contribute to prolapse so I dock plenty long just for that reason. Your lambs are very nice this year and lilac lambs are marked so nicely. Here’s hoping that the rest of your lambs are girls…

  4. I did take the harness off before she lambed. I can see how they could lamb around the spoon, but it looks to me that the lamb would hang up in the harness. I was very glad to hang up that harness! Viva looks so small today!

  5. Wow, I am so glad to hear that everything worked out ok! That is a big boy – poor Viva!!! Kayleigh’s ewe lamb is lovely!

  6. mudranch says:

    Thanks for sharing about the harness and spoon Linda. I had been curious about it after seeing it in Premier 1 and also wondered how they’d lamb around the thing… Glad yours are proof that they can. πŸ˜‰ I’m having quite a few ram lambs this year as well… Though Kenleigh’s Lilly just delivered two bouncing baby girls this late morning and one looks like a Belted Galloway! πŸ˜€
    Looks like you’re having lots of lilacs and very pretty ones too! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

