Be Careful What You Wish For……..

Back in the fall of 2008, I thoughtfully worked out my breeding groups. Belvedere’s ewes were chosen with an eye towards the future.  His ewes are mostly unrelated to my other ewes, so a ram sired by Belvedere, used on my lilac ewes, would keep my inbreeding coefficient down to 5% and under on most breedings.  I had my fingers crossed, quite tightly, for a four horned lilac ram lamb. Heather complied with two! four horned lilac rams.

And Ruffles produced this pretty four horned lilac boy..

ruffles

Kayleigh? Nicollette? Listen up. You’re next. Ewe lambs are also welcome 🙂

PS – Ruffles did deliver a lilac ewe lamb along with the boy. The little girl was unable to stand. After getting her warm and fed, she was alive, but still unable to stand this morning. As hard it was to dispatch her this morning, I’ve learned it is even harder to do a week later.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Be Careful What You Wish For……..

  1. Patrice says:

    He certainly has great legs!!

  2. He is a very good looking boy and I’m also sorry about the ewe lamb. Linda, your birth fleeces look lovely so far this year, I’m impressed… 🙂

  3. He is a pretty boy 🙂 It is amazing at how powerful the ‘wish’ is sometimes, lol!

    I’m sorry to hear about the little girl, I agree it is really hard to dispatch them but easier done at a younger age. It is definitely my least favorite part about raising animals.

Leave a Reply

