New Year’s Resolutions

Be prompt. After all, it’s two weeks after New Year’s day and I’m just getting around to this.

I’m going to bypass all the usual resolutions. I quit smoking 20 years ago. I have no intention of giving up a few beers now and then.  While it wouldn’t bother me to lose 10 ten pounds, it wouldn’t bother me not to.  My family and friends are used to my bad habits and I’m somewhat fond of them (family, friends, and bad habits).

Learn something new. I subscribe to Interweave Crochet, Spin-off, and Handwoven, PC Photo, and load up on the ten cent copies of cooking magazines at the library sale. Once a week, try something new. A recipe, a fiber technique, a new technique in Photoshop, mastering forms in Dreamweaver – pick something and give it a try. Take a chance – don’t be afraid to fail (or fall, as the case may be).

horse1

Eliminate waste. Don’t waste time weaving, spinning, crocheting,  etc, with crappy materials – even for samples or learning. I’ll never like anything I make if I didn’t like the yarn or fiber to start with. Toss that awful cone of 8/2 cotton that I hate every time I use it. Toss that alpaca I bought on eBay and have been trying to salvage for three years.  Don’t waste chances to have time with your family and friends.

p1020690

Don’t waste food by cooking more than we eat these days. Learn to cook little meals -or get a couple of hogs :-).

Laugh alot – especially at myself.

dorothyonbed1000740

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Family Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Wrensong Farm says:

    Those are some great resolutions….things that you would enjoy doing. That’s the mistake people make with resolutions…..it’s always something they really don’t want to do! 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. This sounds like a great plan.

Leave a Reply

