Take time to stop and

smell photograph the roses

OR.. Linda gets a new camera. I’ve had cameras my whole life. My mom was the photographer for the Sarasota Journal when I was growing up.  I believe that my sister, Kathy, and I probably had our pictures in the paper more than anyone in the county. Anytime Mom needed some people for perspective in a photo, she grabbed one or both of us and we got to be in the paper. Fine for Kathy, who was born cute. Not all that exciting for a kid that was all knees and elbows with frizzy hair and a crooked nose.  I soon learned that the photographer doesn’t have to be in the picture and a life long love affair began.

For years, I used Minolta and Nikon slrs with multiple lens, shot b/w and had a darkroom. Enough background – jump to Linda meets digital. My first digital camera was a whopping  .3 MP. Yep, that’s really “point” 3. I loved it! JSBA and JSC weren’t as thrilled with the registration photos I submitted as I was 🙂

There have been a few cameras between that Fuji DX7 and the new camera. Each a technological marvel — “WOW TWO MEGAPIXELS WITH A 3X OPTICAL ZOOM!!”.  My new baby is a Panasonic FZ28 – one of the superzooms – 10mp (no decimal point) and an 18X optical (27mm to 486mm in film equivalent – I’m a zoom freak). Thought a bit about mortgaging the house and buying a dslr with two lenses to match the 27 to 486 and the image stablization, but I like the advantages of not having to change lenses and I like this camera that is small enough that I can carry it with me all the time…And that leads me to the end of this long and winding road post.

Why take pictures? To preserve memories. To create art. To get pictures for your Jacob Sheep registration applications. To sell stuff on eBay. To email pictures of sheep you are selling. To send relatives pictures of the kids.

And to “see” with a different, and perhaps clearer, eye (or perhaps to see in another dimension). When I walk in the woods and take pictures, I look at things differently.

Photography is the opportunity to:

notice the play of light on the path

and the swirl of a leaf

to have fun with a pastel drawing when you can’t draw

to have fun with your dog!

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Take time to stop and

  1. Yep, that’s drool 🙂 Maggie gives REALLY wet kisses.

  2. Wow, those close-ups are so nice and clear and the color is beautiful. Is that drool splashing out of your great dane’s mouth? Looks like his coming to give you a wet one 🙂

  3. Thanks! I get inspired by seeing everyone’s excellent photos on their blogs.

  4. Shannon says:

    Congrats on your new camera! I love the pictures, especially the last one of your dane.

  5. I really enjoy seeing your pictures, too. Keep them coming 🙂

  6. Wrensong Farm says:

    I LOVE my camera (hope to get a really good one some day), it slows me down and helps me appreciate the beauty of this world. Great pics! Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

