The Crawdad Song

You get a line and I’ll get a pole honey.
You get a line and I’ll get a pole babe.
You get a line and I’ll get a pole
And we’ll go down to the crawdad hole, honey, baby mine.

Whatcha’ gonna’ do when the creek goes dry honey?
Whatcha’ gonna’ do when the creek goes dry babe?
Whatcha’ gonna’ do when the creek goes dry?
Sit on the bank and cry, cry, cry, honey, baby mine.”

As much I felt like sitting on the bank and crying, crying, crying, I had too many thirsty sheep for that when the creek that supplies my livestock water finally disappeared this morning.  When it gets dry, the creek goes underground.  Fortunately I was able to move up the hill abit and catch the creek before it moved off to China.

water.jpg

As you can see, my water system is quite fancy and uses cutting edge technology  (gravity – sometimes the simple ways are the best). The hose connects to the one of the sheep water troughs, which is also fitted with a hose fitting and goes to another trough further down the hill.  The overflow goes to our paddocks.  One great thing about living on the side of a mountain is that we are able to utilize gravity as a tool.  Sometimes that’s a good thing, as in when I’m moving water.  Sometimes that a bad thing, as when I’m dragging a sheep (or myself) up the hill!  Or losing control of a roll of field fence.  Boy, that sucker was really moving by the time it was stopped by the next rise.  Another day, another minor crisis, and another solution.  Ain’t life great!

The forecast is for rain this evening and tomorrow, as the remnants of Humberto move into our area.  Fingers crossed. Our household water comes from a spring way up the mountain.  So far, that’s running fine.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Crawdad Song

  1. Bob Berentz says:

    I feel for you on the drought and water deal. We hauled water for a year in Texas while I was in high school in the ’50’s. You keep in shape I’ll tell you what!

    When you got a rain, the weeds had chased the water line down and I had to pull all the weeds or they would rot in the new water and ruin the water to where we couldn’t use it and the cows would drink it.

    Here in Idaho, we have been irrigating on half water up to now and if we don’t get some good snow this year, perhaps one hay crop for my Quarter Horses. I didn’t sell all of my hay and kept some for next year just in case. $140 per ton paid for my new old baler with a bale ski in it. If you don’t know baleskii’s check them out, made in Montana. Less fuel, smaller tractor and no more banana bales and an even stack. We saved almost a thousand dollars by stacking by hand. My son helped, I’m seventy. My friends are dropping dead from my H.S. class. I use yarrow and echinacea and don’t have any problems. I use herbs on a lame just foaled mare and cured her in three days, a kicked blue healer’s eye in three days and my one box of kleenex a day flue in one night. We have not been to a doctor in fifteen years or seen a vet for a long time.

Leave a Reply

