Trying to salvage a lost cause

Three weeks ago, I got this “GREAT” idea to weave some scarves from my handspun to take to the Jacob Sheep Breeders Association annual general meeting. I have two looms – a 48″ 8 harness Macomber and a 24″ 8 harness Macomber (love Macombers!). The 48″ is warped for rugs – 24″ at 6 epi. The 24″ is warped for huck lace – 11″ at 14 epi. Gosh, which loom would work best for a 6″ scarf?? Yeah, I know, but I went with the 48″ loom. The sett is too open and I’m ending with a weft faced scarf rather than the balanced weave I was thinking of. I keep trying ways to salvage the handspun warp. Give it up, Linda! it’s time to cull! There is nothing worse than trying to finish a project that you are not happy with – just because you feel you “need” to finish it. It’s a little like keeping a Jacob ewe that doesn’t much grab you , but because of her bloodlines you keep breeding her.  Every spring you hope that she will produce something you like better than you like her. HMMM — do I see a parallel? I cull ewes that don’t produce and I’m cutting that warp off my loom RIGHT NOW! It will never be anything I’m proud of.

About patchworkfibers

Registered Jacob Sheep
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trying to salvage a lost cause

  1. The loom’s not for sale. It was the project I had on that I was disgusted with, not the loom. I like the 48″ Macomber so much that I also bought a 24″ Macomber.

  2. James Sargent says:

    What are the particulars on the Macomber 48″ loom? Where are you located? What is your asking price?

  3. lyrics says:

    Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?

Leave a Reply

